BCCI announces fixtures, venues for T20I series between India and South Africa

South Africa Tour of India: New Delhi will host India’s first international match after the completion of IPL 2022 as the BCCI announced venues for a 5-match T20I series starting on June 9.

BCCI announces T20I series matches between India and South Africa in June (Reuters photo)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Saturday announced the fixtures and venues for a 5-match T20I series between India and South Africa, which will be their first assignment after the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022.

While the IPL 2022 final takes place on May 29, the T20I series will kick off on June 9. The first T20I of the 5-match series will be played at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi. Cuttack, Visakhapatnam, Rajkot and Bengaluru will host the rest of the series.

South Africa tour through India, 2022

Sorry. New.




Event location



June 9

1st T20I




12 June

2nd T20I

cut tack



14th of June

3rd T20I




June 17

4e T20I




June 19

5e T20I


Rohit Sharma is likely to lead India in the 5-match T20I series as the Asian giants resume their journey to this year’s T20 World Cup, to be held in Australia in October-November.

India might be tempted to give some of the big names, including the out-of-form Rohit and Virat Kohli, some rest, but with the World Cup approaching, the former champions would want to play with a full squad. Players like Hardik Pandya, T Natarajan and Washington Sundar may return to the squad after suffering injuries in the past. †

India, under Rohit Sharma, has been phenomenal in the game’s shortest form since the T20 World Cup, which saw the squad knocked out in the Super 12 stages. Virat Kohli had stepped down as captain after the World Cup, after which Rohit had an impeccable record in the shortest form of the game.

India had a 9-0 record in T20Is, after completing clean sweeps at home against New Zealand, the West Indies and Sri Lanka.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.