LSG vs MI: KL Rahul hits his 4th IPL hundred, joins Virat Kohli in rare list

IPL 2022, LSG vs MI: Lucknow Super Giants captain KL Rahul scored his 2nd hundred of the season with both against Mumbai Indians. He brought his total to 4 in the list of all-time centurions.

LSG vs MI: KL Rahul hits 4th IPL hundred, joins Kohli in rare list (Courtesy of BCCI/PTI)


  • KL Rahul hit his 6th hundred in T20 cricket, level with Rohit Sharma
  • Rahul reached his hundred with 2 sixes and 12 limits on Sunday
  • Lucknow only managed 168 despite Rahul’s 103 failing

KL Rahul’s love affair with Mumbai Indians continued when the Lucknow Super Giants skipper hit a 103 not out in Match 37 of IPL 2022 at Wankhede Stadium on Sunday. Rahul made his 2nd hundred of the current season, both against Mumbai Indians in the span of 8 days.

Rahul hit 103 not out of just 62 balls, crushing 4 sixes and 12 boundaries in another superlative of power-hitting. It was the Lucknow captain’s fourth IPL a hundred and three against his favorite enemies, the Mumbai Indians.

LSG vs MI, IPL 2022 Live Updates

Meanwhile, KL Rahul also became the lone 2nd batter after Virat Kohli who scored 2 hundreds against the same team in a season of the IPL. Virat Kohli had accomplished the feat in 2016 when he got 2 of his 4 hundreds against the now defunct Gujarat Lions.


Chris Gayle – 6 in 142 games

Virat Kohli – 5 in 215 matches

Jos Buttler – 4 in 72 games

KL Rahul – 4 in 102 matches

Shane Watson – 4 in 145 games

David Warner – 4 in 155 games

Rahul also equaled Rohit Sharma’s record for most hundreds by an Indian batter in T20 cricket. Rahul has 2 international hundreds for India to go along with his 4 IPL hundreds.


Rohit Sharma – 6
KL Rahul – 6
Virat Kohli – 5
Suresh Raina – 4

Despite Rahul making the three-digit score, Lucknow only managed 168 on the board while the Mumbai Indians kept it tight in the power play and on death. Rahul and Manish Pandey even took their time to get going after Quinton de Kock fell early at Wankhede Stadium.

However, Rahul loosened up after he reached fifty. Despite regularly losing partners, Rahul kept the scoreboard moving. Rahu’s late attack saw Lucknow rack up 58 runs in the last 5 overs, even as they lost wickets at regular intervals.

The next best score for Lucknow was 22 from Manish Paney, who came on a run-a-ball. Big hitters Marcus Stoinis and Krunal Pandya dropped cheaply while Deepak Hooda left for 10. Ayush Badoni hit a big in the final, but MI conceded just 17 runs in their last overs after Rahul Jaydev broke Unadkat apart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.