PBKS vs GT: Shikhar Dhawan scripts history, becomes 1st Indian to hit 1000 boundaries in T20s

IPL 2022, PBKS vs GT: Shikhar Dhawan on Friday became the first Indian to reach 1000 limits in T20 cricket and the 5th batter overall to reach the milestone. Dhawan achieved the feat after a brutal start for PBKS against undefeated GT in Mumbai.

Shikhar Dhawan makes history after reaching 1000 limits in T20s (Courtesy of BCCI/PTI)

Shikhar Dhawan made history on Friday by becoming the first Indian batter to complete 1,000 limits in T20 cricket. The India opener only became the 5th batter overall in world cricket when he joined an elite roster of cricketers including West Indian great Chris Gayle.

Shikhar Dhawan, who played his 307th T20 match on Friday, hit the milestone while playing for Punjab Kings, its new franchise in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, against Gujarat Titans at Mumbai’s Brabourne Stadium. Dhawan needed 3 more limits to get to the milestone for Mach 16 of the IPL season and he got there after a solid start on Friday.

PBKS vs GT, IPL 2022 Live Updates

Dhawan opened his account with an inside edge against Hardik Pandya, the captain of Gujarat Titans who opened the bowling for his team. By the way, luck went Dhawan’s way as he slid in to another frontier in Mohammed Shami’s second time.

Dhawan took over the charge to Lockie Ferguson in the first from the Gujarat Titans pacer to get to the landmark.


1000*: Shikhar Dhawan

917: Virat Kohli

875: Rohit Sharma

779: Suresh Raina

Dhawan has scored over 8850 runs in T20 cricket in a career spanning over 15 overs. The 36-year-old made his debut for Delhi in 2007 in the shortest form of the competition, before making his Indian debut in 2011 in the T20Is.

IPL 2022: full coverage | Points table

Dhawan scored 1,759 runs in 68 T20Is for India, while scoring the majority of his T20 runs in the IPL. The left-handed opener scored over 5880 runs in the IPL, behind only Virat Kohli who tops the charts with 6341 runs. Dhawan tops the list of most goals scored in the Premier T20 competition, with over 665 limits.

MOST 4’s in T20’s

Chris Gaylea 463 14.562 1132
Alex Hales 336 9471 1054
David Warner 314 10312 1005
Aaron Finch 348 10499 1004
Shikhar Dhawan 307 8867* 1000*


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.