Tumblr is adding a feature to disable reblogs of posts

Tumblr users who don’t want a particular post to be reblogged by others now have the option to disable the reblog setting. In a blog postTumblr says it’s starting to roll out reblog controls across the web and iOS today, with Android coming soon.

When composing a post, users can choose between two reblog options. One option allows anyone on the platform to reblog the post to their own blog. A new option allows users to disable reblogs for that post so that no one can reblog it.

In the post, Tumblr says the feature comes at the request of users who say checking the reblog settings would create a sense of security. Even if a user blocks someone else after the post is posted, the blocked user still won’t be able to reblog the post, the company says.

“This change gives you control over your own posts, so will improve your posting experience,” the blog post reads. “Ultimately, better posting means a better Tumblr.”

Users can find ways to bypass posts that have reblogs disabled, such as taking screenshots or reposting content. But the new feature does give users more control over how their content spreads and who can interact with it.

Other platforms such as Twitter and Facebook have rolled out new settings to give users more control over their posts. In April, Twitter began experimenting with an “unmentioning” feature, which allows users to remove themselves from conversations they’ve been tagged in. Last week, Meta tweaked the settings on Facebook, slightly changing the default setting for who can view a post.

www.theverge.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.